Kefalonia 2012

Lassi

After a fresh start at 4.30 AM from Kikinda, we reached Metsovo in the late afternoon and spent a night in a hotel. Next day we carried on to Lefkada where in Vasiliki we boarded a ferry. Appon reaching Kefalonia we desembarked in Fiskardo and carried on to Lassi, where we entered a booked appartment. We spent most of our time there, enjoying the beaches of Makris and Platis Gialos and visiting nearby Argostoly occationally.

Myrthos

We spent a day on famous Myrtos Beach. The other day we wnt to St. Georges castle, which was unfortunetelly closed. We visited Drogarati Cave, then continued to Melissani Lake cave, Karavomylos, and in the afternoon rested on filmmed Antisamos Beach. Exploration of the west was the task for another day. First target was beautifull Petani, then unique Platia Amos and finally, clifed Xi. After visiting beaches, we drowe to Lixouri and took a ferry back to Argostoli.

Myrthos Myrthos

Skala

It was time to explore the south of the island. We visited Skala. One morning we spent on the beach of Agios Thomas. In the afternoon we visited Fanari and Katavothers. One of our last days in the island we spent in Assos. We set out for a trip home in the morning. We drove to Fiskardo, where we strolled the streets untill the ferry came. After desembarking in Lefkada, we drove by Egnacia odos, through western Greece, to Evzoni, and carried on to Kikinda.

Assos

FISKARDO (Km)

ARGOSTOLI (Km)

LIXOURI (Km)

POROS (Km)

read more
    • was seized by the Normans.
    • Aquired by Orsini, it was
    • conquered by the Turks in 1479.
    • and Venetians in 1500.
    • It remained the capital of Kefalonia till 1757.Today, visitors can see the outer walls, the churches and several buildings.

St.GEORGE

  • A castle built by
  • Byzantines on a hilltop
  • of Peratata outside
  • Argostoli. In 1185. it
read more
    • together with the figure of the
    • god Pan, and oil lamps. It is
    • a lake cave with brackish water,
    • a mixture of sea and sweet
    • water. It has an openning in the ceiling, through which the sun shines on the lake water, creating beutiful colors.

MELISSANI

  • The cave of the
  • nymphs, named after one of
  • them, due to the discovery,
  • of Minoan figures of nymphs,
read more
    • architectural style, with 20
    • columns, in 1828. by the
    • British administrator
    • Charles Napier. It is
    • still in operation today and gives a romantic view at night.

FANARI

  • The lighthouse
  • of Saint Theodoroi
  • in Argostoli.
  • Built in Doric
read more
    • Englishman Stevens, in order to
    • exploit the water flow, built a
    • water mill, which is still in
    • place today. The water flows
    • underground and reapears in Lake Melissani and in the end at Karavomylos, at the other side of the island, where there is another water mill.

KATAVOTHERS

  • Near the loghthouse
  • of Fanari, the sea
  • water disappears in the
  • sink holes underground.